Racing in Pomona: Finals edition

Hi everyone,

This weeks race took us to Pomona, California for the Auto Club NHRA Finals and a lot went down. I am going to note first off that yesterday marked Richie Crampton’s last race with Kalitta Motorsports. I wish him the best and hope that he’s able to find another ride in the future. Now for the big thing, if you watched the race and even if you didn’t but you have any sort of social media, then you will have seen the altercation between Steve Torrence and Cameron Ferre that resulted in Steve hitting Cameron in the face. When I write these posts I keep my personal feelings out of it and I’m going to do that here as well. But I will say that the fans that were at the race and the fans all across the internet have been telling Steve and the NHRA exactly what they think and what they think should be done. It’s been a while since I’ve seen so many race fans, not just drag racing fans, united and agreeing on a situation which says something.

So, on to the actual racing and starting with Top Fuel, the ladder looked like this; #1 Steve Torrence (3.68) vs #16 Cameron Ferre (3.95), #2 Leah Pritchett (3.69) vs #15 Scott Palmer (3.77), #3 Clay Millican (3.69) vs #14 Justin Ashley (3.76), #4 Mike Salinas (3.69) vs #13 Richie Crampton (3.75), #5 Billy Torrence (3.70) vs #12 Shawn Reed (3.74), #6 Doug Kalitta (3.71) vs #11 Terry McMillen (3.73), #7 Jordan Vandergriff (3.71) vs #10 Austin Prock (3.73) and #8 Brittany Force (3.72) vs #9 Antron Brown (3.72). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Steve Torrence (3.73) and Brittany Force (4.07), Richie Crampton (4.20) and Shawn Reed (4.27), Leah Pritchett (3.75) and Jordan Vandergriff (3.72) and Justin Ashley (4.36) and Doug Kalitta (3.74). The semifinals were Steve Torrence (3.74) vs Richie Crampton (3.79) and Leah Pritchett (3.74) vs Doug Kalitta (4.06). The finals featured Richie Crampton (3.76) and the DHL team and Doug Kalitta (3.73) and the Mac Tools team. With the winner being Doug Kalitta (3.71). This is Doug’s  third win of the season.

Next we have Funny Car, where the ladder looked like this; #1 Matt Hagan (3.87) vs #16 Jonnie Lindberg (4.39), #2 Jack Beckman (3.87) vs #15 John Hale (4.34), #3 Tim Wilkerson (3.87) vs #14 Steven Densham (4.12), #4 Shawn Langdon (3.89) vs #13 Jeff Arend (4.09), #5 Robert Hight (3.89) vs #12 John Force (4.03), #6 Bob Tasca (3.90) vs #11 Blake Alexander (3.99), #7 Tommy Johnson Jr (3.91) vs #10 JR Todd (3.97) and #8 Ron Capps (3.94) vs #9 Cruz Pedregon (3.96). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Matt Hagan (4.11) and Ron Capps (3.94), Shawn Langdon (4.01) and Robert Hight (3.94), Jack Beckman (3.94) and JR Todd (3.97) and Steven Densham (5.38) and Blake Alexander (3.98). The semifinals were Matt Hagan (4.00) vs Robert Hight (3.97) and Jack Beckman (3.95) vs Blake Alexander (4.15). The finals featured Robert Hight (3.97) and the AAA team and Jack Beckman (3.95) and the Infinite Hero teams with the winner being Jack Beckman (3.92). This is Jack’s second win of the season.

Moving on we have Pro Stock, where the ladder looked like this; #1 Jeg Coughlin (6.53) vs #16 Joey Grose (6.64), #2 Erica Enders (6.53) vs #15 Greg Anderson (6.53), #3 Jason Line (6.54) vs #14 Shane Tucker (6.62), #4 Bo Butner (6.55) vs #13 Val Smeland (6.61), #5 Alex Laughlin (6.56) vs #12 Steve Graham (6.59), #6 Fernando Cuadra (6.56) vs #11 Matt Hartford (6.58), #7 Deric Kramer (6.56) vs #10 Chris McGaha (6.58) and #8 Kenny Delco (6.57) vs #9 Aaron Stanfield (6.57). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Jeg Coughlin (6.57) and Aaron Stanfield (6.63), Bo Butner (6.57) and Steve Graham (6.61), Erica Enders (6.57) and Chris McGaha (6.60) and Jason Line (6.56) and Fernando Cuadra (6.60). The semifinals were Jeg Coughlin (6.59) vs Bo Butner (6.58) and Erica Enders (6.59) vs Fernando Cuadra (6.61). The finals featured Jeg Coughlin (6.58) and the Jegs team and Fernando Cuadra (6.58) and the Corral Boots team. With the winner being Jeg Coughlin (6.55). This is Jeg’s second win of the season.

And finally we have Pro Stock Motorcycle, where the ladder looked like this; #1 Matt Smith (6.81) vs #16 Katie Sullivan (7.02), #2 Karen Stoffer (6.83) vs #15 Kelly Clontz (7.00), #3 Jerry Savoie (6.83) vs #14 Angie Smith (6.97), #4 Andrew Hines (6.84) vs #13 Jianna Salinas (6.97), #5 Steve Johnson (6.85) vs #12 Fred Camarena (6.96), #6 Hector Arana Jr (6.86) vs #11 Hector Arana (6.91), #7 Eddie Krawiec (6.87) vs #10 Angelle Sampey (6.88) and #8 Scotty Pollacheck (6.87) vs #9 Ryan Oehler (6.87). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Matt Smith (6.88) and Ryan Oehler (6.93), Jianna Salinas (6.98) and Steve Johnson (6.90), Karen Stoffer (6.88) and Angelle Sampey (6.88) and Jerry Savoie (6.91) and Hector Arana Jr (6.93). The semifinals were Matt Smith (6.89) vs Jianna Salinas (7.06) and Karen Stoffer (6.89) vs Jerry Savoie (6.86). The finals featured Jianna Salinas (7.02) and the Scrappers Racing team and Jerry Savoie (6.85) and the White Alligator Racing team. With the winner being Jianna Salinas (7.46). This is Jianna’s first career win, so congratulations to her and her team.

I’m going to be doing a separate post about the champions if you want to read about the seasons they had.

Until next time, congrats to all the winners this season, the champions and their teams. It’s been a great season. Thank you to everyone for reading and I’ll see you in February for the start of the 2020 season :).


Twitter: @KSagerson

Instagram: Kyra Sage

Poshmark: KyraSage18

Pinterest: Kyra Sage


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s