Racing in Arizona

Hi everyone,

This weeks race took us to Phoenix, Arizona for the NHRA Arizona Nationals and it was a crazy race. There were firsts, a crazy pedal fest and a crash that took everyone’s breath away. On the note of the crash, it involved John Force and Jonnie Lindberg, if you haven’t seen it and want to it is on the NHRA’s YouTube channel and I’m glad that they are both alright.

Starting with Top Fuel, the ladder looked like this; #1 Tony Schumacher, who set the new speed record 336.57 mph, (3.64) vs #16 Greg Carrillo (4.22), #2 Steve Torrence (3.65) vs #15 Steve Chrisman (4.08), #3 Clay Millican (3.66) vs #14 Brittany Force (3.82), #4 Leah Pritchett (3.67) vs #13 Troy Buff (3.80), #5 Richie Crampton (3.68) vs #12 Scott Palmer (3.78), #6 Billy Torrence (3.69) vs #11 Doug Kalitta (3.74), #7 Blake Alexander (3.70) vs #10 Terry McMillen (3.74) and #8 Antron Brown (3.71) vs #9 Mike Salinas (3.73). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Greg Carrillo, who adds his name to the list of people who have gotten their first ever round win by beating Tony Schumacher, (4.22) and Antron Brown (8.75), Leah Pritchett (3.67) and Scott Palmer (3.76), Steve Torrence (3.70) and Blake Alexander (3.84) and Brittany Force (3.73) and Billy Torrence (6.57). The semifinals were Greg Carrillo (4.05) vs Scott Palmer (3.84) and Steve Torrence (3.69) vs Billy Torrence (3.72). The finals featured Scott Palmer (3.85) and the CatSpot team and Steve Torrence (3.72) and the Capco team. With the winner being Steve Torrence (3.72). This is Steve’s first win of the season.

Moving on to Funny Car, the ladder looked like this; #1 Courtney Force (3.82) vs #16 Del Worsham (5.08), #2 Ron Capps (3.84) vs #15 Tim Wilkerson (4.55), #3 Jack Beckman (3.84) vs #14 Richard Townsend (4.24), #4 John Force (3.86) vs #13 Jeff Diehl (4.12), #5 Jonnie Lindberg (3.86) vs #12 Bob Tasca (3.97), #6 Tommy Johnson Jr (3.87) vs #11 Robert Hight (3.92), #7 Cruz Pedregon (3.88) vs #10 Shawn Langdon (3.92) and #8 JR Todd (3.91) vs #9 Matt Hagan (3.92). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Courtney Force (4.33) and Matt Hagan (3.91), John Force (5.71) and Jonnie Lindberg (4.61), Ron Capps (3.90) and Shawn Langdon (3.96) and Richard Townsend (5.50) and Tommy Johnson Jr (4.71). The semifinals were Courtney Force (3.96), she received a single run, and Shawn Langdon (3.92) vs Tommy Johnson Jr (4.45). The finals featured Courtney Force (3.93) and the Advanced Auto Parts team and Tommy Johnson Jr (3.91) and the Make-A-Wish team. With the winner being Courtney Force (3.83). This is Courtney’s first win of the season.

And finally we have Pro Stock, where the ladder looked like this; #1 Deric Kramer, his first career number one qualifier, (6.52) vs #16 Alan Prusiensky (6.66), #2 Erica Enders (6.52) vs #15 Steve Graham (6.65), #3 Alex Laughlin (6.52) vs #14 Val Smeland (6.64), #4 Greg Anderson (6.53) vs #14 Kenny Delco (6.58), #5 Jason Line (6.53) vs #12 Vincent Nobile (6.56), #6 Bo Butner (6.53) vs #11 Jeg Coughlin (6.55), #7 Chris McGaha (6.53) vs #10 Tanner Gray (6.55) and #8 Matt Hartford (6.54) vs #9 Drew Skillman (6.55). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Deric Kramer (6.67) and Drew Skillman (6.53), Greg Anderson (6.55) and Jason Line (6.55), Erica Enders (6.56) and Chris McGaha (6.55) and Alex Laughlin (6.62) and Jeg Coughlin (6.57). The semifinals were Deric Kramer (6.54) vs Jason Line (6.54) and Chris McGaha (6.56) vs Alex Laughlin (6.57). The finals featured Jason Line (6.55) and the Summit Racing Equipment team and Chris McGaha (6.56) and the Harlow Sammons team. With the winner being Chris McGaha (6.52). This is Chris’s first win of the season.

The next race will be Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals, March 15-18 in Gainesville, Florida.

Until next time, congrats to all the winners and I can’t wait for the next race :).


Twitter: @KSagerson

Instagram: Kyra Sage

Pinterest: Kyra Sage

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s