Racing in Minnesota

Hi everyone,

This weeks race took us to Brainerd, Minnesota for the Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals and what an exciting and special race it was.

Starting with Top Fuel, the ladder looked like this; #1 Leah Pritchett (3.64), on Friday during Q2 Leah ran 3.640 at 330.63, setting the new national ET record and making the quickest run in NHRA history. And she would face #16 Rob Passey (8.80), #2 Brittany Force (3.68) vs #15 Steve Chrisman (4.84), #3 Doug Kalitta (3.69) vs #14 Terry Haddock (4.58), #4 Tony Schumacher (3.69) vs #13 Troy Coughlin Jr (4.35), #5 Clay Millican (3.70) vs #12 Chris Karamesines (4.26), #6 Steve Torrence (3.70) vs #11 Luigi Novelli (3.98), #7 Antron Brown (3.72) vs #10 Shawn Langdon (3.85) and #8 Scott Palmer (3.76) vs #9 Terry McMillen (3.81). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Leah Pritchett (3.70) and Scott Palmer (3.78), Tony Schumacher (3.71) and Clay Millican (3.65), Brittany Force (3.72) and Antron Brown (3.69) and Doug Kalitta (3.69) and Steve Torrence (3.72). The semifinals were Leah Pritchett (3.71) vs Clay Millican (3.65) and Antron Brown (3.68) vs Steve Torrence (3.72). The finals featured Leah Pritchett (3.66) and the Papa John’s team and Antron Brown (3.70) and the Matco Tools team. With the winner being Leah Pritchett (3.68). This is Leah’s fourth win of the season.

Next we have Funny Car, where the ladder looked like this; #1 Robert Hight (3.79), on Friday during Q2 Robert ran 3.793 at 338.00, making him the first Funny Car to run in the 3.70’s and setting the new national ET record. And he would face #16 Dale Creasy Jr (4.18), #2 Matt Hagan (3.80) vs #15 Cruz Pedregon (4.11), #3 John Force (3.85) vs #14 Jim Campbell (4.07), #4 Courtney Force (3.86) vs #13 Del Worsham (3.97), #5 Tommy Johnson Jr (3.88) vs #12 Jonnie Lindberg (3.96), #6 Jack Beckman (3.88) vs #11 Brian Stewart (3.96), #7 Tim Wilkerson (3.89) vs #10 Alexis DeJoria (3.94) and #8 Ron Capps (3.92) vs #9 JR Todd (3.93). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Robert Hight (3.85) and Ron Capps (3.89), Courtney Force (3.86) and Tommy Johnson Jr (3.92), Cruz Pedregon (5.71) and Alexis DeJoria (4.41) and John Force (3.90) and Jack Beckman (4.29). The semifinals were Robert Hight (3.82) vs Tommy Johnson Jr (3.93) and Alexis DeJoria (3.88) vs John Force (3.89). The finals featured Tommy Johnson Jr (6.87) and the Make-A-Wish team and Alexis DeJoria (3.89) and the Patron team. With the winner being Alexis DeJoria (3.90). This is Alexis’ first win of the season and really helps her in trying to make it into the Countdown.

Moving on we have Pro Stock, where with 15 cars, the ladder looked like this; #1 Tanner Gray (6.60), #2 Bo Butner (6.61) vs #15 Dave River (6.96), #3 Allen Johnson (6.62) vs #14 Mark Hogan (6.83), #4 Jason Line (6.62) vs #13 John Gaydosh (6.74), #5 Drew Skillman (6.62) vs #12 Alan Prusiensky (6.71), #6 Greg Anderson (6.63) vs #11 Deric Kramer (6.70), #7 Shane Gray (6.63) vs #10 Vincent Nobile (6.67) and #8 Erica Enders (6.66) vs #9 Jeg Coughlin (6.66). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Tanner Gray (6.60) and Erica Enders (6.65), Jason Line (6.62) and Drew Skillman (6.61), Bo Butner (6.62) and Shane Gray (6.63) and Allen Johnson (6.64) and Greg Anderson (6.58). The semifinals were Tanner Gray (6.62) vs Jason Line (6.62) and Bo Butner (6.61) vs Greg Anderson (6.59). The finals featured Tanner Gray (6.62) and the Gray Motorsports team and Bo Butner (6.64) and the Jim Butner Auto team. With the winner being Tanner Gray (6.61). This is Tanner’s fourth win of the season.

And finally we have Pro Stock Motorcycle, where the ladder looked like this; #1 Hector Arana Jr (6.87) vs #16 Jim Underdahl (7.09), #2 Jerry Savoie (6.88) vs #15 Mike Berry (7.05), #3 Matt Smith (6.88) vs #14 Freddie Camarena (7.05), #4 Scotty Pollacheck (6.90) vs #13 Cory Reed (6.97), #5 LE Tonglet (6.91) vs #12 Steve Johnson (6.97), #6 Eddie Krawiec (6.92) vs #11 Joey Gladstone (6.96), #7 Angie Smith (6.94) vs #10 Karen Stoffer (6.95) and #8 Andrew Hines (6.94) vs #9 Angelle Sampey (6.95). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Hector Arana Jr (6.89) and Andrew Hines (6.92), Cory Reed (6.94) and LE Tonglet (6.86), Jerry Savoie (6.88) and Angie Smith (6.93) and Matt Smith (6.85) and Eddie Krawiec (6.88). The semifinals were Andrew Hines (6.91) vs LE Tonglet (6.85) and Jerry Savoie (6.84) vs Matt Smith (6.88). The finals featured LE Tonglet (6.86) and the Nitro Fish team and Jerry Savoie (6.86) and the White Alligator Racing team. With the winner being Jerry Savoie (6.84). This is Jerry’s second win of the season.

A couple of notes from the weekend, with both Leah and Alexis winning, this is the first time two women have shared the Nitro winners circle. Alexis’ win was the 250th win by a woman in the NHRA and Leah’s was number 251.

Update on who has clinched a spot in the Countdown:

Top Fuel:

Steve Torrence, Leah Pritchett, Antron Brown, Tony Schumacher, Brittany Force, Doug Kalitta, Clay Millican

Funny Car:

Ron Capps, Matt Hagan, Robert Hight, Jack Beckman, Tommy Johnson Jr, Courtney Force, John Force

Pro Stock:

Bo Butner (clinched number one spot), Greg Anderson, Tanner Gray, Jason Line, Jeg Coughlin, Drew Skillman, Erica Enders, Vincent Nobile

Pro Stock Motorcycle:

LE Tonglet, Eddie Krawiec, Hector Arana Jr, Jerry Savoie, Matt Smith

Voting for the Traxxas Shootout is now open, so if you want to see your favorite Nitro driver compete in the Shootout in Indy make sure you vote!

The next race will be the Chevrolet Performance US Nationals, aka the biggest race of the year, August 30- September 4 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Until next time, congrats to all the winners and I can’t wait for the next race :).


Twitter: @KSagerson

Instagram: Kyra Sage

Pinterest: Kyra Sage


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s