Amazing carrot cake

Hi everyone,

As Easter is this Sunday, I thought I would share one of my favorite carrot cake recipes. Obviously this isn’t solely an Easter dessert, so if you don’t celebrate then you can make it any time. This carrot cake is one my mother started making a few years ago for Easter  and I quite like it. I’ve always had a love/ hate relationship with carrot cake, sometimes I find it too dense and other times it’s perfect. I guess it depends on the recipe you use. This one I have written down, but it actually comes from The Amish Cook’s Family Favorite Recipes. I have no clue where my mother purchased this cookbook because we’re not Amish but there are some pretty good recipes in there.

What you need:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
  • 4 large beaten eggs
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups of peeled and grated carrots
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 cup raisins

What you do:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit
  • Grease a 9 by 13 pan. My tip for this is to use parchment paper to line to pan that way when you take the cake out you can lift it without worrying about it falling apart. And make sure your cake pan is deep. This makes a good amount of batter and as I found out the first time I made this cake, not using a deep enough pan will make it dense and heavy
  • In a large bowl, combine the sugar, eggs and oil
  • In a medium bowl combine the flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Whisk to blend
  • Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients
  • Then add the carrots, walnuts and raisins and stir until combined
  • Pour batter into cake pan and distribute evenly
  • Bake for 35-40 minutes or until you can stick it with a toothpick and it comes out clean
  • Take out of the oven and let cool completely

For the cream cheese frosting what you need is:

  • 1 pound of sifted powdered sugar
  • 1 8 ounce package of softened cream cheese
  • 4 tablespoons of softened butter
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

What you do:

  • In a medium bowl cream together the powdered sugar, cream cheese and butter
  • Add in vanilla extract and walnuts and stir until well combined
  • Spread on to cake after it’s completely cooled

That about wraps it up for this post, if there’s anything that I would change about this cake it would be the walnuts, I’m personally not a big fan of them. And the next time I make it I probably won’t put them in. But if any of you guys do end up making this cake tweet me a picture or tag me on Instagram because I’d love to see how it turns out.

Until next time, if you do make this cake enjoy it and I hope you all have a happy Easter :).

-K

Twitter: @KSagerson

Instagram: Kyra Sage

Pinterest: Kyra Sage

 

2 thoughts on “Amazing carrot cake

Leave a Reply

