Christmas favorites: TV specials

Days until Christmas: 11

Hi everyone,

This week I wanted to talk about another favorite of mine during December and that is TV specials. I almost included these in my post last week, but ultimately decided I wanted these to have their own moment so here we are. There’s no order to these because I love them all, but the first one is Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer. Probably one of my earliest memories is watching Rudolph when I was really little and I remember thinking that it was the coolest thing for whatever reason and I wanted to watch it over and over again, so it was a good thing my parents had it on VHS. But Rudolph is a Christmas classic and I’m happy that they still play it during December.

fcs1

My next favorite is Frosty the Snowman. I think what’s so great about Frosty is the magic of it and one of the best parts of the Christmas season is the magic and the majesty of it all. I will say that after watching Frosty when I was a kid my friends and I did make many a snowman and tried to bring him to life, to no avail, but it was still fun and it brings back a lot of memories for me when I watch it. And I think there is a lesson in there, that if you believe in it enough anything is possible and can happen. I also went with this picture because I thought that it was one of the most fun parts of the movie.

fcs2

The next one is probably the ultimate Christmas special and that is Charlie Brown Christmas. I know that I always have looked forward to watching it and still like to sit down and do so. I think that of all of these this one has the most lessons and talks about life and I think that’s one of the things that I have always appreciated about Charlie Brown. And who doesn’t love Snoopy, he steals the show in the best way.

fcs3

The second to last favorite is the original Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas. The Grinch is the character we love to hate. For most of the show at least. I much prefer this version to the movie version, but if the movie is on I’ll sit down and watch it. I’m not sure why I like this one more, maybe it’s because Boris Karloff had the perfect voice for the character or because when I was in choir in junior high we performed You’re A Mean One, Mr. Grinch at our Christmas concert and it was a lot of fun. But either way I love it.

fcs4

And my last favorite is a TV special that’s relatively new and that is Disney’s Prep and Landing. I know they’ve made a couple of these and I think they’re all pretty good. I like these because they’ve got a slight adult edge to them and I find them to be funny. They’re different to the others I’ve mentioned in this post and I think it’s always nice when you can combine funny and Christmas and I would definitely recommend watching it if you haven’t.

fcs5

That about wraps it up for this post. If you haven’t read my favorite Christmas movies post from last week I’ll link that down below. I think I’ll be posting another blog similar to this at the end of the week. But until then, let me know if we have any of the same favorites.

Until next time, have fun watching all the Christmas TV and I hope you’re feeling Christmassy :).

-K

Favorite Christmas movies post:

https://kyranycoleblog.wordpress.com/2016/12/08/a-few-of-my-favorite-things-christmas-movies/

My Links:

Twitter: @KSagerson

Instagram: Kyra Sage

Pinterest: Kyra Sage

Leave a Reply

