Soup you will love

Hi everyone,

This week I wanted to share with you one of my all-time favorite soup recipes. It is that time of year now where soup is something that a lot of people are making and are wanting, and hopefully after reading this blog, you will want to make this one too. I know this by heart now because I’ve made it so many times, but it’s actually from the Taste of Home: Heartwarming Soups cookbook and it’s called Tuscan Sausage and Potato Soup.

What you need:

1 1/2 pounds Italian sausage

3 pounds potatoes, peeled and sliced

3 cans chicken broth, about 14 1/2 ounces

2 cups water

1 cup chopped sweet onions

2 garlic minced garlic cloves

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon pepper

3 cups chopped Swiss chard

2 cups heavy whipping cream

8 cooked and crumbled bacon strips

Now for the most part I follow everything, but I have made some changes. I make sure to get Swanson chicken broth because I think it has the best flavor, I prefer to use garlic powder opposed to garlic cloves, but that’s just a personal preference, instead of Swiss chard I use kale. I think it stands up better to cooking than the chard and it gives a better textural element, and finally when it comes to the bacon I make sure to buy thick cut bacon.

What you do:

Step 1: So, the first thing is take a large skillet and cook the sausage over medium heat until it is no longer pink inside. Then drain that and set it aside.

Step 2: In a large pot, or Dutch oven, whichever you prefer, combine potatoes, chicken broth, water, onion, garlic and salt and pepper. Bring that to a boil and once you have, reduce the heat and cover and simmer for about 18-22 minutes or until the potatoes are tender.

Step 3: Stir in the Swiss chard, or kale, cream, sausage and bacon. Bring that to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer, uncovered, for 5-10 minutes or until chard/kale is tender.

And that is it. This is one of the easiest soups to make and one of the most delicious. Whenever I make it there are always leftover and I like that because it gets even better overnight. If any of you guys end up making this let me know what you think :). I’m going to be turning to this cookbook at least a few times throughout the rest of the year, so if I make anything else that I end up really loving I will definitely share it with :).

Until next time, have fun cooking and enjoy the soup :).

-K

Twitter: @KSagerson

Instagram: Kyra Sage

Pinterest: Kyra Sage

 

Leave a Reply

