Racing in Indy

Hi everyone,

As you may know, this week’s race took us to Indianapolis, Indiana for the Chevrolet Performance US Nationals, aka the biggest race of the year. It was a race full of crashes, records, first time Indy winners, and perfect lights. But before we get into that, the Pro Stock final from the Seattle race was run. If you’ve forgotten, it was Vincent Nobile and the Mountain View Tire team vs local racer Aaron Strong and the Strong Trucking team. And the winner of that was Aaron Strong with a 6.63. Vincent went red by .001, giving Aaron his first win.

Now, going back to Indy, where in Top Fuel, there was a battle going on for 10th place between Terry McMillen and Leah Prichett. So, the ladder looked like this; #1 Clay Millican (3.69) vs #16 Terry McMillen (3.89), Terry made it in by .002, #2 Steve Torrence (3.70) vs #15 Bruce Litton (3.82), #3 Brittany Force (3.70) vs #14 Pat Dakin (3.79), #4 Tony Schumacher (3.71) vs #13 Tripp Tatum (3.79), #5 Antron Brown (3.72) vs #12 TJ Zizzo (3.77), #6 Doug Kalitta (3.72) vs #11 Richie Crampton (3.77), #7 Shawn Langdon (3.73) vs #10 Leah Prichett (3.73) and #8 Morgan Lucas (3.73) vs #9 JR Todd (3.73). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Clay Millican (3.73) and JR Todd (3.71), Tony Schumacher (3.74) and Antron Brown (3.75), Steve Torrence (3.74) and Shawn Langdon (3.73) and Brittany Force (3.75) and Doug Kalitta (3.74). The semifinals were JR Todd (3.77) vs Tony Schumacher (3.78) and Steve Torrence (3.77) vs Doug Kalitta (3.83). The finals featured Tony Schumacher (3.98) and the US Army team and Steve Torrence (3.80) and the Capco team. With the winner being Tony Schumacher (3.80). This is Tony’s second win of the season, but more importantly it’s his 10th US Nationals win. Making him the winningest class driver in US Nationals history. He also doubled up winning the race and the Traxxas Shootout.

Next we have Funny Car, where the ladder looked like this; #1 Matt Hagan (3.85) vs #16 John Bojec (4.13), #2 Jack Beckman (3.85) vs #15 Dave Richards (4.10), #3 Ron Capps (3.86) vs #14 Bob Bode (4.04), #4 Courtney Force (3.86) vs #13 Jim Campbell (3.97), #5 Tommy Johnson Jr (3.86) vs #12 John Hale (3.96), #6 John Force (3.87) vs #11 Chad Head (3.95), #7 Del Worsham (3.87) vs #10 Alexis DeJoria (3.94), this was Alexis’ first race back since her crash in Sonoma and it’s great to see her back. And #8 Robert Hight (3.88) vs #9 Tim Wilkerson (3.91). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Matt Hagan (3.89) and Robert Hight (3.93), Courtney Force (3.93) and Tommy Johnson Jr (3.94), Dave Richards (4.13) and Del Worsham (3.89) and Ron Capps (3.92) and Chad Head (3.95). The semifinals were Matt Hagan (3.94) vs Tommy Johnson Jr (3.96) and Del Worsham (3.98) vs Ron Capps (3.95). The finals featured Matt Hagan (3.94) and the Mopar team vs Del Worsham (3.97) and the DHL team. With the winner being Matt Hagan (3.96). This is Matt’s third win of the season and first Indy win. Making it another DSR double up.

Moving on we have Pro Stock, where the ladder looked like this; #1 Bo Butner (6.57) vs #16 Curt Steinbach (6.67), #2 Greg Anderson (6.57) vs #15 Jeg Coughlin (6.65), #3 Shane Gray (6.57) vs #14 Erica Enders (6.64), #4 Vincent Nobile (6.58) vs #13 Deric Kramer (6.64), #5 Jason Line (6.59) vs #12 Aaron Strong (6.63), #6 Alex Laughlin (6.59) vs #11 Kenny Delco (6.63), #7 Allen Johnson (6.61) vs #10 Drew Skillman (6.62) and #8 Matt Hartford (6.61) vs #9 Chris McGaha (6.62). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Curt Steinbach (6.82) and Chris McGaha (6.65), Vincent Nobile (6.65) and Jason Line (6.63), Greg Anderson, who cut a perfect light .000 in round one, (6.63) and Allen Johnson (6.66) and Shane Gray (6.64) and Alex Laughlin (6.64). The semifinals were Chris McGaha (6.69) vs Vincent Nobile (6.67) and Allen Johnson (6.68) vs Shane Gray (6.66). The finals featured Chris McGaha (6.70) and the Harlow Sammons team and Allen Johnson (6.70) and the Marathon Petroleum team. With the winner being Chris McGaha (6.68). This is Chris’ first win of the season and his first Indy win.

And finally, we have Pro Stock Motorcycle, where the ladder looked like this; #1 Angelle Sampey (6.81) vs #16 Hector Arana (6.91), #2 Jerry Savoie (6.84) vs #15 Scotty Pollacheck (6.91), #3 Eddie Krawic (6.84) vs #14 Karen Stoffer (6.90), #4 Chip Ellis (6.84) vs #13 Jim Underdahl (6.89), #5 Hector Arana Jr (6.85) vs #12 Michael Ray (6.88), #6 LE Tonglet (6.86) vs #11 Matt Smith (6.87), #7 Andrew Hines (6.86) vs #10 Melissa Surber (6.87), and #8 Cory Reed (6.86) vs #9 Steve Johnson (6.87). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Angelle Sampey (6.86) and Cory Reed (6.93), Chip Ellis (6.86) and Hector Arana Jr (6.86), Jerry Savoie, who cut a perfect light .000 in round 2 (6.85) and Andrew Hines (6.87), and Eddie Krawic (6.83) and LE Tonglet (6.84). The semifinals were Cory Reed (6.88) vs Hector Arana Jr (6.93) and Andrew Hines (6.88) vs LE Tonglet (6.88). The finals featured Hector Arana Jr (6.91) and the Lucas Oil team and Andrew Hines (6.91) and the Vance and Hines Harley Davidson team. With the winner being Andrew Hines (6.86). This is Andrew’s second Indy win and fifth win of the season.

The next race will be the first of the last six races and start the Countdown to the Championship. The top ten in each class have been set, in Top Fuel, in order, it’s Antron Brown, Doug Kalitta, Steve Torrence, Tony Schumacher, Brittany Force, JR Todd, Shawn Langdon, Clay Millican, Richie Crampton, and Leah Prichett. Terry McMillen missed out by one point. In Funny Car, it’s Ron Capps, Del Worsham, Matt Hagan, Courtney Force, Jack Beckman, Robert Hight, Tommy Johnson Jr, John Force, Tim Wilkerson, and Alexis DeJoria. In Pro Stock, it’s Jason Line, Greg Anderson, Bo Butner, Allen Johnson, Vincent Nobile, Drew Skillman, Chris McGaha, Shane Gray, Erica Enders, and Jeg Coughlin. And in Pro Stock Motorcycle, it’s Andrew Hines, Eddie Krawic, Angelle Sampey, Jerry Savoie, LE Tonglet, Chip Ellis, Hector Arana Jr, Hector Arana, Matt Smith, and Cory Reed.

The next race will be the NHRA Carolina Nationals, September 16-18 in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Until next time, congrats to all the winners and I can’t wait for the next race :).


Twitter: @KSagerson

Instagram: Kyra Sage

Pinterest: Kyra Sage

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s