Racing in Colorado

Hi everyone,

This week’s race took us to Denver, Colorado for the Mopar Mile-High NHRA Nationals. Not only was it a great race, but it kicked off the Western Swing. If you’re not familiar with the Western Swing, it’s three races in a row starting in Denver, then going to Sonoma, California and finally finishing in Seattle, Washington. Every driver wants to sweep the swing which isn’t easy, but it’s always exciting. This race was also a big deal in the fact that NHRA went live on Fox and it was great.

Starting off with Top Fuel, the ladder looked like this; #1 Steve Torrence (3.77) vs #16 Chris Karamesines (5.57), #2 Antron Brown (3.80) vs #15 Rob Passey (4.95), #3 Richie Crampton (3.81) vs #14 Bill Litton (4.60), #4 Brittany Force (3.81) vs #13 Terry McMillen (4.28), #5 Clay Millican (3.81) vs #12 Terry Haddock (4.27), #6 JR Todd (3.81) vs #11 Scott Palmer (4.02), #7 Shawn Langdon (3.82) vs #10 Leah Prichett (3.86) and #8 Doug Kalitta (3.83) vs #9 Tony Schumacher (3.83). The winners and who they would face in round two were Steve Torrence (3.84) and Tony Schumacher (3.78), Brittany Force (3.82) and Clay Millican (3.82), Antron Brown (3.87) and Shawn Langdon (4.28) and Richie Crampton (4.11) and JR Todd (3.84). The semifinals were Tony Schumacher (4.08) vs Clay Millican (3.85) and Antron Brown (3.84) vs JR Todd (3.84). The finals featured Tony Schumacher (3.83) and the US Army team and Antron Brown (3.82) and the Matco Tools team. With the winner being Tony Schumacher (3.80). This is Tony’s first win of the season and it gives him the 7th spot in the Traxxas Shootout.

Moving on we have Funny Car, where the ladder looked like this; #1 Courtney Force (3.91) vs #16 Jim Campbell (7.17), #2 John Force (3.93) vs #15 Jeff Diehl (6.56), #3 Del Worsham (3.96) vs #14 Todd Simpson (4.93), #4 Alexis DeJoria (3.97) vs #13 John Hale (4.88), #5 Robert Hight (3.97) vs #12 Cruz Pedregon (4.16), #6 Jack Beckman (3.98) vs #11 Ron Capps (4.06), #7 Matt Hagan (4.01), and #8 Chad Head (4.02) vs #9 Tommy Johnson Jr (4.02). Matt Hagan was supposed to face Tim Wilkerson in round one, but in the last qualifying session Wilkerson had a crash very similar to his crash in Kansas and he didn’t have a backup car. But he does have a car being shipped to Sonoma for the next race and he will compete. The winners and who they would face in the second round were Courtney Force (3.97) and Tommy Johnson Jr (4.04), John Hale (4.30) and Robert Hight (3.99), John Force (4.00) and Matt Hagan (4.03) and Del Worsham (4.02) and Ron Capps (4.04). The semifinals  were Courtney Force (4.01) vs Robert Hight (3.99) and John Force (4.03) vs Del Worsham (4.05). The finals featured Courtney Force (3.93) and the Traxxas team and her teammate and dad John Force (4.00) and the Peak Antifreeze RealTree team. With the winner being John Force (3.96). This is John’s first win of the season.

Next we have Pro Stock and with 15 cars, the ladder looked like this; For the first time in his career #1 Alex Laughlin (6.92), #2 Erica Enders (6.93) vs #15 Alan Prusiensky (7.47), #3 Shane Gray (6.93) vs #14 Chris McGaha (7.07), #4 Jason Line (6.93) vs #13 Deric Kramer (7.05), #5 Bo Butner (6.94) vs Richie Stevens (7.03), #6 Greg Anderson (6.95) vs #11 Matt Hartford (6.99), #7 Drew Skillman (6.95) vs #10 Allen Johnson (6.98) and #8 Jeg Coughlin (6.97) vs #9 Vincent Nobile (6.98). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Alex Laughlin (15.13) and Vincent Nobile (7.00), Jason Line (6.95) and Bo Butner (6.94), Erica Enders (6.97) and Allen Johnson (7.00) and Chris McGaha (7.02) and Greg Anderson (6.99). The semifinals were Vincent Nobile (7.03) vs Jason Line (6.97) and Allen Johnson (7.00) vs Greg Anderson (6.99). The finals shockingly did not feature any KB cars, but did feature Vincent Nobile (16.01) and the Mountain View Tire team and Allen Johnson (6.98) and the Marathon Petroleum team. With the winner being Allen Johnson (6.98). While this is Allen’s first win of the season it’s not surprising it came in Denver as he’s king of the mountain and does very well there.

And finally we have Pro Stock Motorcycle where the ladder looked like this; #1 Andrew Hines (7.16) vs #16 Scotty Pollacheck (7.30), #2 Eddie Krawic (7.17) vs #15 Karen Stoffer (7.28), #3 Angelle Sampey (7.17) vs #14 Hector Arana (7.28), #4 LE Tonglet (7.20) vs #13 Tyler Fisher (7.27), #5 Matt Smith (7.20) vs #12 Angie Smith (7.27), #6 Michael Ray (7.21) vs #11 Jerry Savoie (7.24), #7 Chip Ellis (7.22) vs #10 Hector Arana Jr (7.23) and #8 Shawn Gann (7.23) vs #9 Cory Reed (7.23). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Andrew Hines (7.21) and Cory Reed (7.23), LE Tonglet (7.23) and Matt Smith (7.25), Eddie Krawic (7.23) and Chip Ellis (15.21) and Angelle Sampey (7.20) and Jerry Savoie (7.20). The semifinals were Andrew Hines (7.23) vs LE Tonglet (7.30) and Eddie Krawic (7.24) vs Jerry Savoie (7.22). The finals featured Andrew Hines (7.15) and the Vance and Hines Harley Davidson team and his teammate Eddie Krawic (7.21) and the Vance and Hines Harley Davison team. With the winner being Andrew Hines (7.13). This is Andrew’s third win of the season and his 45th in his career making him the winningest Pro Stock Motorcycle rider in NHRA history.

The next race will be the second stop on the Western Swing, the Toyota NHRA Sonoma Nationals, July 29-31 in Sonoma, California.

Until next time, congrats to all the winners and I can’t wait for the next race :).


Twitter: @KSagerson

Instagram: Kyra Sage

Pinterest: Kyra Sage

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s