Racing in the Lone Star state

Hi everyone,

This weeks race took us to Texas for the NHRA Spring Nationals. The weather wasn’t the greatest, but the racing was fantastic.

Starting off with Top Fuel, this is what the ladder looked like; #1 Steve Torrence (3.72), this was Torrence’s fourth number one qualifier this season. And he faced #16 Rob Passey, #2 Doug Kalitta (3.74) vs #15 Terry Haddock, #3 Clay Millican (3.76) vs #14 Leah Prichett (6.30), #4 Richie Crampton (3.75) vs #13 Scott Palmer (4.02), #5 Antron Brown (3.75) vs #12 JR Todd (3.88), #6 Shawn Langdon (3.76) vs #11 Troy Buff (3.87), #7 Brittany Force (3.76) vs #10 Kebin Kinsley (3.87), and #8 Tony Schumacher (3.76) vs #9 Terry McMillen (3.81). The first round had a couple of upsets and a scary moment from Terry McMillen. If you watched the race on FS1 or have seen any of the pictures, then you know how insane that explosion was. I don’t think I’ve seen one that big in a while. But I’m really glad he was alright. And if you didn’t see it, I’m pretty sure you can find it on the NHRA’s YouTube channel. The winners and who they would face in the second round were Steve Torrence (3.76) and Tony Schumacher (3.76), (upset #1) Scott Palmer (3.92) and Antron Brown (3.82), Doug Kalitta (3.76) and (upset #2) Kebin Kinsley (4.00), and Leah Prichett (3.81) and Shawn Langdon (3.77). The semifinals featured Steve Torrence (3.74) vs Antron Brown (3.78) and Doug Kalitta (4.30) vs Leah Prichett (3.75). The final round was Steve Torrence (3.73) and the Capco team vs Doug Kalitta (3.75) and the Mac Tools team. With the winner being Doug Kalitta (3.81). This is Doug’s first win of the season and qualifies him for the Traxxas Shootout.

Moving on to Funny Car, the field was fast and the ladder looked like this; #1 Tim Wilkerson (3.89) vs #16 Jim Campbell (11.34), #2 Alexis DeJoria (3.91) vs #15 John Hale (6.64), #3 Courtney Force (3.91) vs #14 Bob Bode (6.13), #4 Del Worsham (3.92) vs #13 Todd Simpson (4.22), #5 Robert Hight (3.95) vs #12 Jack Beckman (4.12), #6 Ron Capps (3.95) vs #11 Cruz Pedregon (4.04), #7 Tommy Johnson Jr (3.96) vs #10 John Force (4.00) and #8 Chad Head (3.97) vs #9 Matt Hagan (3.98). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Tim Wilkerson (4.03) and Matt Hagan (3.99), Del Worsham (3.94) and Jack Beckman (3.95), Alexis DeJoria (3.93) and Tommy Johnson Jr (3.98) and Courtney Force (3.95) and Ron Capps (4.03). The semifinals featured Tim Wilkerson (3.92) vs Jack Beckman (3.94) and Tommy Johnson Jr (3.98) vs Courtney Force (3.96). The finals were Tim Wilkerson (3.90) and the Levi Ray and Shoup team vs Courtney Force (3.93) and the Traxxas team. With the winner being Courtney Force (3.91). Not only is this Courtney’s first win of the season, but it ends her winless streak, qualifies her for the Traxxas shootout and puts her into a tie with Tim Wilkerson for the Funny Car points lead. This is also the 5th consecutive woman winner. Leah Prichett, Brittany Force, Alexis DeJoria, Brittany Force, and now Courtney. To say the women are doing well is an understatement.

And finally we have Pro Stock. This weekend there were only 13 cars in the category, so the ladder looked a little different. #1 Greg Anderson (6.58), #2 Jason Line (6.59) vs #13 V Gaines (6.96), #3 Bo Butner (6.62) vs #12 Aaron Strong (6.68), #4 Drew Skillman (6.63) vs #11 Jeg Coughlin (6.65), #5 Allen Johnson (6.63) vs #10 Shane Gray (6.65), #6 Erica Enders (6.63) vs #9 Chris McGaha (6.64) and #7 Vincent Nobile (6.63) vs #8 Alex Laughlin (6.64). The winners and who they would face in the second round were Greg Anderson (6.59) and Vincent Nobile (6.65), Drew Skillman (6.97) and Allen Johnson (6.63), Jason Line (6.60), because of the way the ladders were set up Jason had a solo run, and Bo Butner (6.63) and Chris McGaha (6.66). The semifinals featured Greg Anderson (6.59) vs Allen Johnson (6.63) and Jason Line (6.60) vs Bo Butner (6.63). The finals were Greg Anderson (6.60) and the Summit Racing Equipment team vs Jason Line and the Summit Racing Equipment team. With the winner being Greg Anderson (6.63). That gives KB Racing six wins, three for Jason and three for Greg. And helped Greg close the gap in points between him and Jason to 79, which is still a lot, but it’s nothing compared to how far back the rest of the top ten is.

The next race will be the Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Southern Nationals, May 13-15 in Atlanta, Georgia.

Until next time, congrats to all the winners and I can’t wait for the next race :).


Twitter: @KSagerson

Instagram: Kyra Sage

Pinterest: Kyra Sage



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s