Cookies you can’t eat just one of

Hi everyone,

I wanted to start off by saying I hope you guys had a happy Easter, and if you don’t celebrate Easter, I hope you had a good weekend :). Every year on Easter I will make some sort of dessert, cake, pie, cookies, whatever. This year I ended up making one of my absolute favorites, Raspberry Almond Shortbread cookies. I came across this recipe ages ago on Pinterest and since it’s been one of my go-to cookies. Although it comes across as a spring/ summer cookie, I make it all year.

What you’ll need:

1 cup of softened butter

2/3 cup granulated sugar

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup raspberry jam

Sugar for sprinkling

What you do:

First, in a medium/ large bowl beat the butter for 30 seconds on medium speed. Then add 1/2 teaspoon almond extract and 2/3 cup granulated sugar. Beat together until well combined. Then, mix in as much flour as you can with the mixer and using a spoon or your hands, stir in any flour you couldn’t with the mixer. Cover dough and chill in the fridge until it’s easy to handle. The recipe says 1 hour, but I find 45-55 minutes is perfect. But it depends on your refrigerator. After the dough as been chilled, preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Then shape the dough into about 1-inch balls and place them 2-inches apart on the ungreased cookie sheet. Once you’ve placed the balls , take your thumb and make an indentation in the center of them, then spoon 1/2 teaspoons of the jam into each cookie. Now, I didn’t measure out 1/2 cup of jam, but I did use a 1/2 teaspoon measure to make sure I didn’t put too much in. And once you’ve done that, sprinkle with sugar and put in the oven. Bake the cookies for about 10 minutes or until they are light brown on the edges. When the cookies come out, let them sit on the cookie sheets for a few minutes so they are cool enough not to break when you transfer them to wire racks to cool completely. The last step is the icing. For that you’ll need 1 cup of powdered sugar, 1 1/2 teaspoons of almond extract and around 3 to 4 teaspoons of water. Mix the powered sugar, almond extract and water until combined and it creates a consistency where you can drizzle it. And lastly, drizzle the icing over the cookies. I like to drizzle them lightly right after they come out and then again once they’ve had a chance to cool more.

RASC1

This is what they looked like before I put them in the oven. As this was my last batch I made a couple bigger than the normal size to use up the dough.

RASC2

And this is what they look like when they come out of the oven. After the cooling rack I moved them to foil so I could drizzle without making a huge mess.

RASC4

RASC3

I really enjoy these cookies and could easily eat too many in one sitting :).

Until next time, have fun baking, and try not to eat too many cookies.

-K

Twitter: @KSagerson

Instagram: Kyra Sage

Pinterest: Kyra Sage

 

 

Leave a Reply

