Oatmeal is for cookies

Hi everyone,

Today I decided that I wanted to do some baking. I’ve been trying lately to eat healthier, so I thought that I’d treat myself and make some cookies. After looking through different recipes I settled on oatmeal cookies. I actually really like oatmeal cookies and never really make them.

What you’ll need:

1 cup of softened butter

1 cup of granulated sugar

1 cup of firmly packed brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

3 cups of uncooked oats

1 cup nuts, chopped

For this I used quick oats because that’s what I had, but old fashioned would work too. I also was out of raisins, which I always put in oatmeal cookies.

What you do:

Firstly, preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit, then cream together butter and both sugars until smooth, then beat in eggs and vanilla. Once combined thoroughly add and blend flour, cinnamon, baking soda and salt into the creamed mixture, then stir in oats and nuts. Finally, mold dough into rounded teaspoonfuls onto cookie sheet. You can grease the sheet, or use parchment paper like I did. And finally bake cookies for 10-12 minutes. The recipe says it should make about 6 dozen cookies, but by the second tray I ditched the teaspoon method and made them a bit bigger.

 

 

imageNot gonna lie, these don’t look the prettiest, but I promise they are so delicious and very warming.

The next time I do another baking post will probably be Easter, so keep an eye out for that :).

Until next time, have fun baking and make the cookies whatever size you want :).

-K

Twitter: @KSagerson

Instagram: Kyra Sage

Pinterest: Kyra Sage

Leave a Reply

