A little something for everyone

Hi everyone,

Over the weekend I did a bit of cleaning and organizing. A big part of that included sorting out my overflowing bookshelves. After going through and rediscovering books that I hadn’t seen for a while, I got the idea to gather together a few books and do this post. I did end up with quite a random selection of books, but I ended up picking three great ones. These don’t go in any particular order, but I do highly recommend them all. The first is Funny Car Fever: The Birth of Drag Racing’s Wildest Class by Steve Reyes.

FB1

This book is about the rise of the funny cars in NHRA drag racing and how they evolved throughout the years. There are tons of amazing pictures and stories from the author. I think what is so intriguing about this book is you’re getting stories from someone who was there when it all happened. As someone who loves drag racing and has wanted to be a funny car driver since childhood, I think it’s the perfect book to have in your collection, especially now. This year the NHRA is celebrating 50 years of Funny Cars and this is great refresher course.

The next book is Phantom in the River: The Flight of Linfield Two Zero One by Gary Wayne Foster.

FB2

I could probably write about this book for a year, there are so many things to say about it. Basically it’s about an F-4B Phantom II that flew during the Vietnam War. It covers how the Phantom came to be, the stories of the pilots Ev Southwick and Jack Rollins and what happened when they were shot down. There is of course more to it, but I don’t want to give it away. It also includes photos. I think that the author is due a lot of thanks because had he not thought this story needed to be shared this book would not exist. For me, one of the things that I have always had a love for and geek out over is aviation and military history for that matter. I’ve been going to airshows since I was four years old so I love this book and find it very fascinating.

The last book appeals to the romantic side of us all and it’s The Choice by Nicholas Sparks.

FB3

I’ve been seeing the trailer for the movie for a while, thought it looked good and knew instantly that I wanted to read the book. I’m going to be honest with you, it took me a day to read this. One day, I got it last Saturday and finished it as I was going to bed that night. I’ve read many Nicholas Sparks books and there is just something about the way they’re written that draws you in. I definitely got emotional, as one does when reading Nicholas Sparks, but I loved it and I can’t wait to see the movie.

I’m always looking for a book to read, so tweet me any suggestions you guys have :).

Until next time, enjoy your books and you never know what you’ll find when you’re cleaning.

-K

Twitter: @KSagerson

Instagram: Kyra Sage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

