A colorful start to 2016

Hi everyone,

Happy 2016! It’s crazy to think that we’re already into the new year, but here we are. To start off I’m going to do a bit of beauty blogging for you. Over Christmas I received the Hard Candy Cube of Lip Color lip collection. One of my favorite things about the holidays is when the beauty companies put out their holiday edition products. I always buy them for people, so I was happy to be receiving one. One thing I’m always looking for is a good lip product. Lip stick, lip gloss, all of it. This particular box has 15 lip products. 5 Fierce Effects Lip Glosses, 5 Shimmer Lip Glosses, and 5 All Glossed Up Lip Stains.

HCLC1

Starting with the Fierce Effects glosses, I really like these glosses for a couple of reasons. First off they are super pigmented, the staying power is great, there’s no gloppy texture when you reapply and they have a nice minty smell to them. Starting on the top, the first one has a nice berry tone to it, it’s not too dark so you can easily build on it without looking like you’re going for the Halloween look. The next color is a nice shade of red. I am quite picky with my red lip sticks, but this one I really like because it’s not too bright, but it’s also not dark. I feel like Goldilocks, just the right shade. The next one is actually blue…Now, I have tried this on to see just how blue it was and I can say that I don’t think I’ll be getting regular use out of it. However, it would be great for Halloween, or as a favor for a baby shower. The fourth one, is a deceivingly light shade of pink. I had a apply a few coats of it to really see it, so it is buildable, but if you were going for a lighter shade it’s great. The last color is straight up purple. It’s not so much a berry tone as it is grape. I think this one would be great for winter with a more neutral or gold eye.

HCLC2

Moving on, we’ve got the Shimmer glosses. What I like about these is how buildable they are, how the shimmer comes through and the smell. They honestly smell like candy. The first gloss is hard to see, but it’s clear and I think these are great if you don’t want a lipcentric makeup look, or you want to add a some shine on top of any lip color. The next one is a red, I like the fact that they made this one on the lighter side, variation is important if you’re putting multiple of the same color into a box like this. The third one is the purple shade. You don’t usually see a lot of light purple lip glosses, so that’s really fun. The next one is also hard to see, but it’s a very light shade of pink. I think it’s great to have a shade like that. It’s a step up from the clear without being really bold. Speaking of bold, the last gloss is a dark pink that I like a lot. I do have that say that I was surprised when I first put this one on. It was thinner than I anticipated, but after two coats I was happy with the color.

HCLC3

The last thing is the Glossed Up lip stains. There are probably my favorite out of all of them. I love the staying power, the buildability and the colors. The first one is a nude/ light brownish color. I like that it’s more on the subtle side and is there without being in your face. The next is a very light red. I really like that in every phase there is a different shade of red. The third one is a different shade of pink that I was completely surprised by. I was thinking that it would be much darker, but when I put it on it was very bright and has quickly become one of my favorites. The fourth one is definitely a top 3 favorite for me. It’s a nice bright pink that reminds me of my favorite pink lipstick, Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in 080 Strawberry Shortcake. It’s quite as pink, but it’s a close second. The last one is more on the orange side, which isn’t always my color but I’m willing to give it a chance :).

Overall, I’m really happy with these lip products and I can’t wait to start wearing them on a more regular basis.

Until next time, have fun experimenting with different lip colors and here’s to a great 2016 :).

-K

Twitter: @KSagerson

Instagram: Kyra Sage

Leave a Reply

