Salmon, it’s what’s for dinner

Hi you guys,

So as you could probably guess from the title, this post is all about food :). Now I love seafood all year round, but I especially love it during the summer. It’s fresher, and more readily available. Lately I’ve been really liking salmon. It’s in my opinion a really versatile fish and stands up well to a variety of flavors. What I’ve been doing lately is putting it on the grill. The way I did it this time, wrapping it in foil, stands up better on the grill because it’s on the flame opposed to sitting on a sheet pan like it would in the oven. That being said, lets get into the prep for the fish…..The first thing I did was lay down two sheets of foil. I like to do two on the bottom for stability. Next, I rinsed off the salmon and pat it dry. I also took out a few visible bones as this filet had bones in it. I then sprinkled it with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. You of course can use fresh garlic, but I didn’t want it to overpower the other flavors. Next, I cut pieces of butter, about 2- 2 1/2 tablespoons, and put that all the way down the filet. You can use more or less if you don’t like butter, but it gives a good moisture, flavor, and richness to the salmon. The last couple of things I did were cut slices of onions, laid that down the fish, and put dill on top. You can go sans dill, but I love the flavor and think it goes very well with the salmon. This is what it looked like before I put the foil on and threw it on the grill. 001It was on the grill for about 40-45 minutes at a temperature of 400 degrees. After it came off I let it rest for a couple of minutes and the finished product looked like this. 005It was honestly so freaking good. But that wasn’t the only thing that I made. I always make some sort of side dish and this time I made potato wedges…What I did with the potatoes is super simple and didn’t take me very long at all. After I washed the potatoes I cut them into wedges, coated them in olive oil, sprinkled with salt and pepper and mixed that together. I baked them for 25 minutes at 425 degrees and when they came out, I sprinkled them with Weber Roasted Garlic and Herb Seasoning. 004 This dinner was something I enjoyed eating and writing about. And I’ll probably do another post of this nature soon. If you guys like the food posts let me know in the comments or on Twitter.

Until next time, be adventurous with your spices and remember, a little flavor never hurt anyone 🙂

-K

Twitter: @KSagerson

Instagram: Kyra Sage

Leave a Reply

